Follow us:
  • Prevention
  • Spas
  • Spas and health resorts
  • Clinics
    • On average, the human body consists of 67% water. It is therefore not surprising that water also plays a decisive role in terms of health.

      The beneficial warmth of moor, fango and mud was discovered early on. Mud baths were documented as a natural remedy as early as the 14th century.

      The climate has long had a major influence on well-being. Those seeking relaxation are most likely to find it in an environment with a balanced temperature and constant humidity.

      Kneipp cures are probably among the best-known water treatments. However, Kneipp therapy also includes nutrition, herbs, exercise and inner balance in addition to the water pillar.

  • Your way to a cure

BEATE PROSKE

How bathing in cold water makes you happy

© Beate Proske
Beate Proske, Sustainable Destination Development Officer at Kur- und Bäder GmbH Bad Dürrheim, has been leading the "Biohacking Bad Dürrheim" project since July 2020. Since then, she has become a biohacker herself. Here, she tells us about her first experience of encountering really cold water. Not for hot showers, but to make you happy.
© Beate Proske

"I was immediately enthusiastic when my friend Wiebke from Stuttgart visited me here in the Black Forest and invited me to join her for the cold experience in the Wutach. My confidence that we wouldn't plunge headlong into the cold waters was strengthened, as Wiebke was in the middle of her training in the Wim Hof method.

So on this sun-drenched day at the end of May, I packed my swimsuit and, on Wiebke's advice, a thin sweater, which I would probably need despite the pleasant temperatures. Beforehand, I had a thousand questions and even a few concerns about the cold. I listened intently to the planned procedure while we looked together for a suitable entry point on the banks of the Wutach. Aha: we were not alone. Sun-seekers were also joining us on the long bank, but there were only a few in the water. I'm supposed to dive in up to my shoulders in swimwear? I was freezing just thinking about it. My curiosity and my personal incentive to leave my warm shower comfort zone pulled me out of these negative thoughts. My friend's advice that our bodies are evolutionarily designed for the cold also helped me to stick with it.

Warm-up exercises using the Wim Hof method © Beate Proske

A suitable small streambed was quickly found. Wiebke gave me all the important instructions in a relaxed manner and prepared me for the upcoming cold experience with gentle warm-up exercises according to the Wim Hof method, the so-called 'Horse Stance'. 'It's important to expose yourself to the right amount of cold, especially at the beginning, and that you are generally healthy,' Wiebke continued. Daily cold training, for example by taking cold showers, lays a good foundation.

Mentally strengthened by targeted affirmations, Wiebke convinced me with a smile that I wouldn't need my towel placed close to the shore after the cold bath for the time being. Secretly, I wasn't entirely convinced and the towel stayed put. Then I was ready for the big entrance: it felt like 40 pairs of eyes were staring at us, all wanting to know whether we girls would really get into the cold water.

"I had a
thousand questions
beforehand, and
even small concerns
about the cold."
Beate Proske
Enjoy the cool water © Beate Proske
Concentrated and determined, we walked barefoot into the stream and without hesitation we got down on our knees. We crouched in the cold water up to our necks. I started to catch my breath. As instructed by Wiebke, I immediately tried to breathe more slowly and focus with my eyes closed. Amazing: it worked. I became calm and even started to enjoy the experience. About 60 seconds later, I felt the need to get out of the cold. And then exactly what my friend had predicted happened: I didn't need the towel! My body automatically started its counter-regulation.
"I had a
thousand questions
beforehand, and
even small concerns
about the cold."
Beate Proske

Honestly, it was amazing. What's more, happiness hormones flooded my body and a happy smile spread across my face in a completely natural way. Again, we moved with flowing movements to help the body get up to temperature. There was a slight tingling sensation in my fingertips. A completely normal body reaction. I hadn't been this mindful and aware of my body sensation for ages. I was beaming, wide awake, fresh and it just felt fantastic. It's hard to describe what was going on.

I slowly started to feel cooler and it was my turn to reach for a sweater. Happy and enriched by a wonderful life experience, I knew immediately: that wasn't the last time."

After the cold bath © Beate Proske

Biohacking Bad Dürrheim

To find out more, visit the biohacking-bd.com website to discover exciting adventures of biohackers, fantastic life hacks for body, mind and soul and inspiration to develop your personal potential.
ASSOCIATION

Spas and health resorts in Baden-Württemberg

en_USEN

Folgen Sie uns:

BEATE PROSKE

Wie Baden in kaltem Wasser glücklich macht

© Beate Proske
Beate Proske, Referentin für nachhaltige Destinationsentwicklung der Kur- und Bäder GmbH Bad Dürrheim, leitet seit Juli 2020 das Projekt „Biohacking Bad Dürrheim“. Seither ist sie selbst unter die Biohacker gegangen. An dieser Stelle erzählt sie uns ihre erste Erfahrung in der Begegnung mit richtig kaltem Wasser. Nichts für Warmduscher, aber zum Glücklichwerden.
© Beate Proske

„Begeistert war ich sofort dabei, als mich meine Freundin Wiebke aus Stuttgart hier im Schwarzwald besuchte und mich zum Kälteerlebnis in die Wutach eingeladen hat. Mein Vertrauen, dass wir uns nicht kopflos in die kalten Fluten stürzen würden, war gestärkt, da sich Wiebke gerade mitten in der Ausbildung zur Wim-Hof-Methode befand.

Ich packte also an diesem sonnenverwöhnten Tag Ende Mai meine Badesachen und, auf Anraten von Wiebke, auch einen dünnen Pullover, den ich, trotz angenehmer Temperaturen, wohl brauchen würde. Ich hatte zuvor tausend Fragen, ja, auch kleine Bedenken, was die Kälte anging. Gespannt lauschte ich dem geplanten Vorgehen, während wir gemeinsam nach einer geeigneten Einstiegsstelle am Ufer der Wutach schauten. Aha: Wir waren nicht alleine. Sonnenhungrige gesellten sich ebenfalls ans lang gezogene Ufer, jedoch waren nur wenige im Wasser. Da soll ich in Badekleidung bis zu den Schultern eintauchen? Ich fror schon beim Gedanken daran. Meine Neugier und mein persönlicher Ansporn, meine Warmduscher-Komfortzone zu verlassen, riss mich aus diesen negativen Gedanken. Auch der Hinweis meiner Freundin, dass unsere Körper evolutionsbedingt schon auf Kälte ausgelegt seien, half mir, dabeizubleiben.

Aufwärmübungen nach der Wim Hof Methode © Beate Proske

Ein passendes kleines Bachbett war rasch gefunden. Entspannt gab mir Wiebke alle wichtigen Instruktionen und bereitete mich mit sanften Aufwärmübungen nach der Wim Hof Methode, dem sogenannten „Horse Stance“, auf das bevorstehende Kälteerlebnis vor. ‚Wichtig sei die richtige Dosis mit der man sich besonders am Anfang, der Kälte aussetzt und dass man generell gesund ist‘, informierte mich Wiebke weiter. Durch tägliche Kältetrainings, beispielsweise durch kaltes Duschen, legt man einen guten Grundstein.

Mental gestärkt durch gezielte Affirmationen, überzeugte mich Wiebke mit einem Lächeln, dass ich mein nahe am Ufer platziertes Handtuch nach dem Kältebad erst mal nicht brauchen würde. So ganz überzeugte mich das insgeheim nicht und das Handtuch blieb an Ort und Stelle. Dann war ich bereit für den großen Auftritt: Gefühlt starrten uns nämlich 40 Augenpaare an, die alle wissen wollten, ob wir Mädels wirklich in die kalten Fluten steigen würden.

„Ich hatte zuvor
tausend Fragen, ja,
auch kleine
Bedenken, was die
Kälte anging.“
Beate Proske
Das kühle Nass genießen © Beate Proske
Konzentriert und entschlossen liefen wir barfuß in den Bach und ohne zu zögern gingen wir in die Knie. Bis zum Hals hockten wir im kalten Nass. Die Schnappatmung stellte sich bei mir ein. Wie von Wiebke instruiert, versuchte ich sofort, mit geschlossenen Augen langsamer zu atmen und mich zu fokussieren. Wahnsinn: Es klappte. Ich wurde ruhig und fing an, dieses Erlebnis sogar zu genießen. Etwa 60 Sekunden später hatte ich das Bedürfnis, aus der Kälte zu steigen. Und dann geschah genau das, was meine Freundin mir vorhergesagt hat: Ich brauchte das Handtuch nicht! Automatisch startete mein Körper mit seiner Gegenregulation.
„Ich hatte zuvor
tausend Fragen, ja,
auch kleine
Bedenken, was die
Kälte anging.“
Beate Proske

Ehrlich, das war verblüffend. Mehr noch, Glückshormone fluteten meinen Körper und ein glückliches Lächeln machte sich auf meinem Gesicht breit, auf ganz natürliche Art und Weise. Wieder bewegten wir uns mit fließenden Bewegungen, um dem Körper zu helfen, auf Temperatur zu kommen. Ein leichtes Bitzeln in den Fingerspitzen machte sich bemerkbar. Eine ganz normale Körperreaktion. So achtsam und bewusst ging ich schon ewig nicht mehr mit meinem Körpergefühl um. Ich strahlte, war hellwach, frisch und es fühlte sich einfach nur fantastisch an. Kaum zu beschreiben was da abging.

Langsam wurde mir kühler und der Griff zum Pullover war an der Reihe. Glücklich und um eine wundervolle Lebenserfahrung reicher, wusste ich sofort: Das war nicht das letzte Mal.“

Nach dem kalten Bad © Beate Proske

Biohacking Bad Dürrheim

Wer mehr erfahren möchte, der kann auf der Website biohacking-bd.com spannende Abenteuer von Biohackern entdecken, fantastische Lifehacks für Body, Mind und Soul und Inspirationen holen, um sein persönliches Potenzial zu entwickeln.
VERBAND

Heilbäder und Kurorte in Baden-Württemberg

de_DEDE